“Life replaced logic.” Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Crime and Punishment

Mary-magdalene-cave

“It is such a letdown to rise from the dead and have your friends not recognize you.” Rob Bell, Velvet Elvis.

As CS Lewis pointed out, it's also pretty rubbish for a hallucination. (In a decent wishful-thinking hallucination, there wouldn't be the complication of your resurrected Messiah looking so different…)

Let's give the folk around 2000 years ago a little credit. They kinda knew about death, and that folk who were executed by the Romans didn't tend to show up again. 'Lucky' wasn't the first to notice:

It seems that we're much better at writing songs about death than about resurrection, so it shouldn't be a surprise that the music links below will fall well short of conveying the magnitude of what is celebrated today by Christians across the world. Hopefully, tho', the songs will reflect some little aspect of either the event, or its consequences.

 
"Stake my future on a hell of a past
Looks like tomorrow is a coming on fast…

Silvio silver and gold 
Won't buy back the beat of a heart grown cold
Silvio I gotta go
Find out something only dead men know…

…Give what I got until I got no more
I take what I get until I even the score
You know I love you and further more
When it is time to go you got an open door."

Scepticism, too, didn't just materialise in the last century. Thomas doubted. Now, I'm not generally a fan of Bluegrass, but since Dylan had time for the Stanley Brothers, I figured I'd make room for this Ralph Stanley song – and I quite liked this version:

 

Taking it back out of bluegrass and into country rock is Lone Justice's Maria McKee who, back in the day, had my own heart beating a little quickly…

 

“Jesus's resurrection is the beginning of God's new project not to snatch people away from earth to heaven but to colonize earth with the life of heaven. That, after all, is what the Lord's Prayer is about.” 

“Logic cannot comprehend love; so much the worse for logic.” N T Wright, Surprised by Hope.

"And now these three remain: faith, hope and love…" St Paul, 1 Corinthians (beloved of wedding ceremonies).

As it is with faith, so it is with hope – you gotta hold on. Preach it Brittany!:

 

Leave a comment